Home / Catalyst Award

Catalyst Award Recipients

The Arizona State University Committee for Campus Inclusion Catalyst Award honors individuals, groups, teams, programs and organization or units that have made a significant difference in fostering and promoting diversity and inclusion at ASU and beyond.


2021 Catalyst Award recipients

Julia Gusse, Coordinator, Veterans Upward Bound
Simon Holzapfel, Clinical Associate Professor, School of Health Solutions
Manuel G. Avilés-Santiago, Associate Dean and Associate Professor, College of Integrative Sciences and Arts
Zuzana Skvarkova, Undergraduate Student, College of Global Futures
I.D.E.A. Student Committee
College of Health Solutions, Racial and Social Justice Discussion Group
Project Humanities


2020 Catalyst Award recipients

K. Supriya, Post Doctoral Scholar, School of Life Sciences
Melinda Borucki, Communication and Events Coordinator, Watts College of Public Service
Mako Fitts Ward, Faculty Head and Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Social Transformation
Sara Brownell, Associate Professor, School of Life Sciences
Aniyah Braveboy, Undergraduate Student, W. P. Carey School of Business
Liam Gleason, Doctoral Student, Evolutionary Anthropology, School of Human Evolution and Social Change
Student Organizations Category: Healthy Lifestyles at ASU
Student Organizations Category: Multicultural Student Journalists Coalition
Student Organizations Category: TRIO Devils Poly
Employee Organization Category: ASU Poly Sol
Employee Organization Category: University Technology Office Giving Back Team
University Program Category: Turning Points Magazine


2019 Catalyst Award recipients

Jesus Galan Diaz, Graduate Student, Spanish
Crista Johnson-Agbakwu, Assistant Research Professor, Southwest Interdisciplinary Research Center
Kathryn Nakagawa, Associate Professor, School of Social Transformation
Kellie Kreiser, Executive Director, Thunderbird for Good
Employee Team/Organization: Access Zone
Employee Team: Jordan Miller and Kasondra McCracken, Lecturers, College of Health Solutions
Student Organization: ASU Pre-Dental Society
University Program: Bridging Success and Bridging Success Early Start
University Program: Community Driven Archives


2018 Catalyst Award recipients

Alesha Durfee, Associate Professor, Women and Gender Studies
HUES ASU LGBTQ+ Mentoring Program
Kristin Koptiuch, Associate Professor, School of Social and Behavioral Sciences
Genevieve McKenzie, Student, School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Student Organization: I AM THAT GIRL
Simon A. Levin Mathematical, Computational, and Modeling Sciences Center


2017 Catalyst Award recipients

Chandra Crudup, Lecturer, School of Social Work
Kevin Wright, Associate Professor, School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication